Lorenzo Sonego has accused Rafael Nadal of 'distracting' him during their third round clash at Wimbledon, with the Spaniard later apologising.
Nadal called Sonego to the net midway through the third set of the match to apparently complain about his grunting during points.
It was a remarkably unusual thing to do, and Sonego admitted he was not happy about it.
"A player should not call his opponent on the net. You cannot do that at Wimbledon. Nadal should have just had a word with the umpire. He distracted me."
Rafael Nadal went on to win the match 6-1, 6-2, 6-4 to book his spot in round four, and the players had a lengthy exchange of words at the net after the final point.
Speaking to the press afterwards, Nadal was happy to admit he was in the wrong and apologised to his opponent.
"Well, first of all, I have to say that I was wrong," Nadal said. "I should not call him to
"So apologize for that. My mistake in that. No problem. I recognize that.
"Then after that, all the stuff during the match that I don't want to comment, because is something that I spoke with him in the locker room and it stays there.
"Only thing I can say is I saw him personally. I apologize for that. My intention was never to bother him at all. Just to tell one thing that was bothering me that I think he was doing in that moment, but that's it.
"I think there is some codes between players. Yeah, we had some issues there. But that's it."
Despite the controversy, Nadal played his best match of this year's Wimbledon by far, and he will now meet Botic van de Zandschulp in round four.
For more exclusive content from Tennisbuzz, including news, features, trivia, promotions and more, please be sure to sign up for our newsletter below or via our home page.
Why not test your tennis knowledge by tackling one of our fiendish quizzes too?